The National Foundation for Australia-China Relations is an Australian government initiative, established in 2020, to strengthen understanding and engagement between Australia and China.

Three musicians sitting side by side playing string instruments
Individual working on a laptop in a factory setting

Our work

We are a national platform that works across business, government and communities to strengthen constructive engagement with China and build links across greater China. Working with others, we provide practical support and expertise, facilitate connections, commission research, and coordinate training and exchange programs.

Through our annual grants program, we support Australian individuals and organisations to develop, promote and strengthen understanding and engagement between Australia and China, including at the business and community level, in support of Australia’s national interests.

In 2020, the Foundation launched its inaugural grants program, receiving more than 500 expressions of interest.